obserwuj facebook visiton obserwuj instagram visiton

Accomodation in Dobre Miasto

Dobre Miasto, located on the Chełmno Law in the years 1325 - 1326, was an episcopal city (it was founded at the last moment of his life by the Bishop of Warmia Eberhard from Nysa). In the second half of the fourteenth century, the second largest church in Warmia was built - the Holy Savior and All Saints. In the fourteenth and fifteenth centuries, city fortifications were built. In 1347, the collegiate chapter of Głotów was moved to Dobre Miasto. The collegiate team was the seat of collegiate canons - dignitaries for whom despite the education, merit and talent, there was no place among Frombors canons. The collegiate chapter was a "body" supporting the bishop in ecclesiastical and political administration. Collegiate in itself is a unique building. It houses valuable and unique monuments from the entire period of its functioning as the seat of the chapter.

Late Gothic triptych of Saint. Anne or the unique Throne of Grace talk about the old meaning of the temple. Gothic - later baroque canon stallions with steps in the form of a lion, coffin reliquary of St. Innocentego, baptismal font or baroque pulpit are a valuable background for the main altar funded by Bishop Adam Stanisław Grabowski. The altar in its form is similar to the altar frombork and is a great example of mature baroque (made in 1743 - 1748). In difficult times for Warmia (Swedish occupation, plague epidemic 1708-1712), the Bishop of Warmia, Andrzej Chryzostom Załuski, chose Dobre Miasto as his headquarters.

Zaluski took care of the good of the inhabitants of the dominium, defended them against the contributions. Bishop was also an intellectual. He collected a large collection of books - the beginning of the famous Załuski library. He also served as the Grand Chancellor of the Crown. He died on May 1, 1711 in Dobre Miasto - he was buried under the floor of a good collegiate church. During World War II, the city was destroyed by Soviet troops in around 90%. In addition to the buildings of the collegiate residence, the former Evangelical church from 1830 has survived - today the library, the 17th-century church of St. Nicholas - today Greek Catholic temple, fragments of the city walls of the so-called Basztą Bocianią (turn of the 14th and 15th centuries) and a complex of tenement houses from the eighteenth to the twentieth century, which today houses the open-air museum. You can visit the interiors, get to know the life of Warmian townspeople - craftsmen, merchants, etc. In addition to the open-air museum, some of the buildings from the 19th and 20th century have survived outside the city center - at the exit streets to Olsztyn or Orneta / Lidzbark Warmiński.

 

Głotowo close to Dobre Miasto

Głotowo from the Middle Ages was an exceptional place. After being erected in 1341 in Pierzchały, the collegiate chapter in Głotowo was its seat for several years. According to a legend in the vicinity of today's church, the peasant, when plowing the land, found a ciborium with a host in the field. The oxen pulling the plow immediately knelt down, bowing down to the Blessed Sacrament. Despite the transfer of the chapter to Dobre Miasto, the village became the place of numerous pilgrimages of Christians from various corners of Prussia. The sanctuary of the Eucharistic miracle became so popular that the bishop of Warmia, Krzysztof Szembek, consecrated a new temple here in 1726. To this day, the late-Baroque church with shallow side chapels is awe-inspiring. In the recently restored main altar (filling the entire height of the presbytery) there is a seventeenth-century painting "The Last Supper". A baptismal farm, a pulpit, baroque stalls, oil paintings and stained glass from the 19th century have survived.

Between 1878 and 1894, a special Calvary was established near the sanctuary. Głotowski heir Jan Merten decided to buy land, on which he then built with the help of about 70,000 faithful from various sides of the Way of the Cross. Merten tried to reproduce the actual length and inclination of the Jerusalem path (previously he made pilgrimages to the Holy Land - he made detailed descriptions of its parts). He also built Stations of the Cross in the form of chapels with life-size figures (the last three large cubature volumes). Beautifully located in the Kalwaria Warmińska ravine and standing above the baroque church, they attract numerous tourists during the summer and the faithful during the Lent and Corpus Christi period.

 

Jeziorany, also close to Dobre Miasto

Jeziorany is a small Warmian town located on the Symsarna River. In the near distance there are several lakes: Luterskie, Blanki, Ring and Ławki. Above the village is a gothic church. St. Bartłomiej with rich Baroque equipment and a unique knocker, which is an extraordinary specimen of foundry art. Built in the fourteenth century, the temple belongs to the oldest typical architecture in terms of architecture (bezchórowa hall with a massive tower) churches in Warmia.

In Jeziorany, the former Evangelical-Augsburg church erected in the 19th century was preserved. We will also see here the remains of the cellars of the bishop's castle, demolished in the eighteenth century after the fire, in the place of which currently houses the building of the Municipal Office. Attention is also drawn to the significant fragments of the medieval city walls. Within the market square and along the road leading to Olsztyn, we will see historic buildings, mainly from the 19th and 20th centuries. Particularly noteworthy today are the granaries that are disappearing in the landscape of the region. At a distance of about 5 km from Jeziorany, there is the Ustnik nature reserve, which is a breeding ground and recreation area for many rare and endangered wetland species. You can observe here all species of grebe, ducks and a dozen or so species of wader birds, including snipes and sprouts

×

Korzystamy z Cookies. Przeglądając stronę zgadzasz się na zapis Cookie na Twoim urządzeniu