obserwuj facebook visiton obserwuj instagram visiton

Wawel Royal Castle

In the city
Contact Wawel 5
31-001 Kraków

tel.: 12 422 51 55
e-mail: zamek@wawel.org.pl

Description

The Wawel Royal Castle with the Wawel Hill is one of the most important historical and cultural places in Poland.

The centuries-old residence of kings and the symbol of Polish statehood, in 1930 the Castle became one of the most important museums in the country, holding a valuable collection of paintings, prints, sculptures, takinis, goldsmiths, military items, porcelain and furniture. In the chambers, the famous tapestries of Zygmunt August and the splendid Renaissance Italian paintings from the Lanckoronski collection are exhibited, and the Wawel art collections in the eastern part comprise the largest and the largest collection of tents in Europe.

The collections of the Castle are presented on a ball of permanent exhibits, showing the appearance of the royal residence in the 16th and 17th centuries. Each of the exhibitions is visited separately.

From spring to early autumn, visitors can also go down to Dragon's Den, climb to the highest levels of the Sandomierska Tower, as well as take a guided tour to explore the history of the Wawel Hill buildings and the reconstructed gardens. The museum also organizes temporary exhibitions and works of art.

Educational activities (museum lessons, competitions, art workshops, lectures) conducted by museum staff are aimed at acquainting children, youth and adults with the history, art and culture of the Castle in the context of the history of the city and the country.

Wzgórze is also a place of numerous concerts - synfonic music, chamber music and opera performances.

The Wawel Hill is for Krakow, the Acropolis for ancient Athens or the Capitoline Hill for Rome. The rocky elevation towering over the Vistula bend from the early Middle Ages was the seat of secular and spiritual power, and archaeological research proves the presence of man in this area since the Paleolithic era.

Mieszko I (Pan 960-992), the first historic ruler and creator of Polish statehood, chose Wawel as one of its seats. The adoption of Christianity by him introduced Poland into the circle of Western culture. In the year 1000 a bishopric was established in Cracow, and soon the first cathedral church was erected in Wawel. The Wawel flourished in the 14th-16th centuries during the reign of the last Piasts and the Jagiellons. Under the rule of the kings: Alexander (1501-1506), Zygmunt I (l.1506-1548) and Zygmunt August (lord 1548-1572), the already too-small, Gothic castle was transformed into a Renaissance seat, one of the most magnificent in Central Europe. It was a time of extraordinary development of art and humanities. After the transfer of King Zygmunt III Waza (pan.15887-1632) together with the court to Warsaw in 1609-1611, the Wawel Castle lost its current significance. He remained, however, one of the royal residences, and in the cathedral there were still coronations and funerals of Polish monarchs.

The castle has been destroyed and humped many times during military operations, including during the Swedish Deluge. In 1796, taken over by the Austrians after the last annexation, it was turned into the barracks of the Austrian army.

At the beginning of the twentieth century, a moncal program of renewal of the royal residence was undertaken, mixing it to restore its former glory, and after Poland regained its independence, it was transformed into a museum.

Branches of the Museum Outside Krakow:

Pieskowa Skała Castle

The castle is located 30 km northwest of Krakow, in the heart of the Ojcowski National Park. In the Jurassic landscape, it dominates the picturesque Prądnik Valley, with the famous Hercules Club. The beginnings of Pieskowa Skała date back to the times of Casimir the Great, who ordered to build a watchtower guarding the trade route leading from Krakow to Silesia. At the end of the fourteenth century, the castle passed into the hands of the Szafraniec family. The current appearance of Pieskowa Skała is largely due to extensive reconstruction and extension, made around 1578 on the initiative of Stanisław Szafraniec, voivode of Sandomierz. At that time, a magnificent Renaissance residence was erected with an arcaded courtyard and an observation loggia. The rich sculptural decorations of the courtyard are: a gallery of naturalistic mascots, cartouches with coats of arms and portals. Another Owner Michał Zebrzydowski erected bastion fortifications in the 17th century vault, closing the large external courtyard. Today, the interior of the castle houses a museum that escapes European art.
32-045 Sułoszowa
tel./fax .: 12 389 60 04
e-mail: maczops@poczta.onet.pl
www.pieskowaskala.eu

Manor in Stryszów

Stryszowski manor, located near Wadowice and Kalwaria Zebrzydowska, belongs to the group of the most interesting monuments of the former residential construction in this area. Built at the end of the 16th century, originally as a defensive court, it was rebuilt in the middle of the 18th century. For more than 40 years, as a branch of the Wawel Royal Castle, the manor serves as a museum facility. A permanent exhibition "Interiors of the Polish court in the nineteenth century" is presented in its rooms and time exhibitions are organized.

Each of our exhibitions is visited separately. Hours and prices change seasonally, which you can check here:

 

http://wawel.krakow.pl/pl/op/96/EKSPOZYCJE-STALE-godziny--ceny 
http://wawel.krakow.pl/en/index.php?op=53 

reviews
Location

Comments

comments powered by Disqus

Location

Kraków, Małopolskie
Wawel 5, 31-001 Kraków
×

Korzystamy z Cookies. Przeglądając stronę zgadzasz się na zapis Cookie na Twoim urządzeniu